Sitting in the airport, it's pouring rain. I'm only 15 1/2 short hours from landing in beautiful Sydney (at least I'm assuming it's beautiful) and I'm kinda freaking out...still.
Reid wanted to drive to the airport...I vetoed that idea on account I wanted to get to the airport before my plane left (in two and a half hours). He'll be licensed when I get home so it shouldn't be as slow...right?
I finished packing today, my baggage allowance is 2 bags 50 pounds or less. Sure I'm only going to be there for 4 and a half months all I need is 100 lbs worth of stuff right?? WRONG. So soo wrong. I was able to fit most of my stuff into two bags together equaling about 80ish pounds (I forsook the other 20 pounds on account of the bag not being able to zip up) and then I also have a backpack with food and books and another smallish bag for things that didn't fit in the other suitcases, you know essentials, a fourth pair of boots, totally necessary, a jacket to wear in the 80 degree weather, thank God I remembered! 2 different pairs of heels who's mates I'm crossing my fingers are in the other bags, and my running shoes. (so the last two actually are kinda important). Oh and I just realized I forgot socks...except the ones I'm wearing at this very moment. Niceeeeeee.
Now I know that you are all probably thinking ok well good for her she got her bags packed she's got the essentials (and some you know other stuff) now all she has to do is sit in her seat (in the middle of two random people who I'm sure will not hesitate one minute to sleep on my shoulders) and get there. WRONG. So soo wrong. I had to go through security which is always a good time. I stood in line and waited for about 20 mins, (while my parents stayed on the outside and waved to me every couple mins, probably whether I was looking or not) and when I finally get up to the metal detector, that I've gone through about a million times, give or take a few, and I get motioned to the side where the wonderfully violating x-ray machine awaits. I put a smile on my face and start thanking God for the sit ups I've been doing and the organic food I've been eating because I've heard the stories and this thing leaves nothing to the imagination. Then right before I walk through the machine that is undoubtly sterilizing me for life, I look up and notice the company that makes it. L3 Communications...my dad works there....and I finally know what he engineers. So that was fun.
Now I'm sitting at my gate, well actually at the gate next to my gate, on the floor by the wall outlet just so I can write this. Our next topic I'm thinking will be about saying good bye to the family, which is always an adventure in itself. Of course I start with the dogs because they stay home while I get driven to the a-port. I hug them and say goodbye and I know the fact that they are squirming and desperately trying to break free of my grasp is just because they are too sad and don't want to be embarrassed by crying...it's ok Jake and Coco, I understand :). Well now is the easy part just the bros and the parentals left, piece of cake!
At the airport I jumped out of the car and helped my dad unload my million pounds of baggage, give or take a few, and then prepared for the goodbyes to the brothers. For those of you who know them you won't be able to imagine the enthusiasm they muster up for saying farewell, they hug me like they're hugging a cactus and mumble something that sounds kinda like I love you and I'll miss you and get back in the car and drive away...if that's not love I don't know what is! I won't bore you with the details of the goodbye to the parents because if you're this far in the blog you already read about the waving and all that through glass so you get the picture, they're kind of a big deal.
Welp I think I'll end it there I'm sure you don't care that I'm currently sitting here scarfing down lay's potato chips and experiencing no internet access but if you do...I'm sorry. Buuuuuut tune in tomorrow for more fun times and hear about how I traipsed through an entire airport carrying over 100 lbs of bags in a foreign country/continent, oh and about actually being in Australia. :)
~Toni =)
LOVE IT TONI!! I THINK THIS IS THE COOLEST THING I HAVE READ IN A LONG TIME. I LOVE YOU. PLEASE BE CAREFUL AND KEEP BLOGGING!
ReplyDeleteI'm tearing up just thinking about you saying good-bye to your Mom! Have fun and be safe (is that an oxymoron?)
ReplyDelete